Beauty · Uncategorized

Beautycounter

beauty-counter-feature-image-1160x760

Hey y’all!! I’m super excited to write this post and talk to you all about something that I’ve become very passionate about…using safer (for not only ourselves but for the environment as well) beauty products! I’m a bit of a health junkie if you didn’t already know. I take good care of my body by eating right and exercising regularly. However, recently I’ve been doing a lot of research into my beauty products and the amount of toxic chemicals that are lining my bathroom sink and shower left me in shock and quite frankly scared of what I’ve been putting on my body for so many years. After all, our skin is our largest organ and anything put on it is absorbed into our bodies. Even products that were deemed to be “all-natural” and “organic” that I chose to use thinking I was making a safer choice were using harsh chemicals that made me cringe. I felt lied to and taken advantage of by these companies for making me think that what I was using was safe when it actually wasn’t any better at all. I had had enough of the toxins and decided it was time to make a REAL change. (In walks my new, adorably sweet, adorably cute, friend Katie!)

I have been hearing about Beautycounter for a couple months now and have even read their site from head to toe and LOVE everything that their about but I just had never taken the plunge to order anything. Que my girl Katie. I saw her post on Instagram that she had recently become a consultant for Beautycounter and I knew I just had to pick her brain! We met for coffee and got talking all about Beautycounter and what it meant to start switching your beauty routine to safer products. She was the push I needed to start swapping my beauty products. (Their charcoal bar, OBSESSED!)

We decided to set up her (and my) first Beautycounter social. I can’t take much credit though, she did all the work and I just showed up with the wine 🙂 It was such a fun and awesome experience! We invited a bunch of our friends over to Katie’s to eat, drink, mingle, and chat about safer beauty. It was so amazing to see the curiosity strike in everyone about switching to safer options and seeing them try to decide which product they wanted to try first (trust me, it’s a very hard choice, they are all truly amazing!)

Now I know what you’re thinking, wow those prices are steep. I’m not going to lie to you, yes, they aren’t cheap. But you get what you pay for when it comes to beauty products. If you want to spend $5-10 on a toxic slug pool to rub on your skin, by all means, be my guest, judgement free zone! However, we all deserve better than that. And personally, it is hard for me to put a price on my health, safety and well-being. Beautycounter products will also last you longer than your typical store bought products because you don’t have to use nearly as much of the product. Not only are these products safer (Check out their list of chemicals they will never use) for us and the environment, they actually WORK! I have horribly dry skin and living in the desert clearly doesn’t help that, and the second I tried their lotion and body butter I had never felt my skin so moisturized, it was fantastic!

So I want to challenge you to download the app “think dirty” and head to your bathroom and start scanning your beauty products. Take the product that is most shocking to you and switch it out with one of Beautycounter’s products and see for yourself what I’ve been ranting about! My social will be open for another week (it will close Thursday 9/22) so feel free to go onto one of the Beautycounter links I’ve posted and click on “Kelsey’s Social” at the top of the page and get to testing out these awesome safe and effective products! If you have any questions feel free to contact me and if I can’t answer them I’ll ask my dear friend Katie and we’ll get back to you 🙂 Also, I will be teaming up with her to become a consultant as well so stay tuned for that! Such exciting stuff! 🙂

Also, check out this awesome video that explains what Beautycounter is all about.

Wishing you all a happy Thursday (it’s almost the weekend, yay!)
With so much love,
Kelsey

Leave a Reply

